Bracketology: If The Playoffs Start Today, Who Is In? Who Is On The Bubble? Breaking Down Where Every Class Stands Today

We’re at the point of the season where things are taking shape and everything hinges on the next few weeks of results to either make the playoffs or to be left out of the party. So if the playoffs started today, who would be in? I examine that exact question in a class by class breakdown:

Class 6A

Each conference is allowed three automatic bids to the playoffs, selected in order of conference finish or tournament play, with the 11 at large bids being the highest ranked teams remaining according to the OSAA rankings system.

PIL: Grant, Wells, Cleveland

Metro: Jesuit, Westview, Mountainside

Pacific: Sherwood, Newberg, Glencoe

Mt. Hood: Nelson, Central Catholic, Clackamas

TRL: West Linn, Oregon City, Lake Oswego

MVC: Bend, South Salem, Summit

Southwest: Sheldon, North Medford, South Eugene

At Large Bids: West Salem, McNary, Sprague, Lakeridge, Sunset, Gresham, Tualatin, Century, South Medford, David Douglas, Roseburg

Bubble: St. Mary’s Academy, Forest Grove, Liberty, Canby

Class 5A

Each conference is allowed four automatic bids to the playoffs, selected in order of conference finish or tournament play, with only 1 at large bid available to the highest ranked team remaining according to the OSAA rankings system.

NWOC: Wilsonville, La Salle Prep, St. Helen’s, Hillsboro

Midwest: Churchill, North Bend, Thurston, Crater

Mid-Willamette: West Albany, Crescent Valley, Silverton, Dallas

Intermountain: Ridgeview, Crook County, Redmond, Pendleton

At Large Bid: The Dalles

Bubble: North Salem, Ashland, South Albany

Class 4A

Each conference winner and the two highest ranked second place teams will get an automatic bid to the playoffs, which is a total of eight spots. Then, a separate 16 team play in bracket consisting of the four remaining #2 teams from the each conference, along with the #3 teams from the two leagues that have two automatic bids plus the two highest remaining ranked #3 teams.

The two remaining #3 teams, along with the next six highest ranked non-automatic qualifiers also qualify for the play-in round. Those winners will advance to play in the main bracket with the eight automatic bids. Its a very complex setup for some absurd reason, but nonetheless here is what it looks like as of now.

Automatic Bids

Cowapa: Valley Catholic

Tri-Valley: Molalla

Oregon West: Cascade, Sisters

Sky Em: Cottage Grove, Siuslaw

Skyline: Mazama

GOL: Baker

At Large Bracket: Tillamook, North Marion, Sweet Home, Marshfield, Henley, La Grande, Banks, Corbett, Hidden Valley, McLoughlin, Philomath, Stayton, Junction City, Marist, Phoenix, Gladstone

Bubble: Banks, Klamath Union

Class 3A

Each conference receives two automatic bids based on regular season or tournament play, along with the four highest remaining non-auto bids.

Lewis and Clark League: Catlin Gabel, Horizon Christian

PacWest: Scio, Amity

Coastal Range: Warrenton, Rainier

MVC: Creswell, Santiam Christian

Far West: Sutherlin, St. Mary’s

EOL: Burns, Vale

At Large Bids: La Pine, OES, Harrisburg, Yamhill-Carlton

Bubble: Pleasant Hill, Cascade Christian, Nyssa

Class 2A

Each conference receives two automatic bids based on regular season or tournament play, along with the four highest remaining non-auto bids.

Northwest: Gaston, Nestucca

Tri-River: Salem Academy, Sheridan

Central Valley: Monroe, Central Linn

Sunset: Toledo, Reedsport

Southern Cascade: Bonanza, Glide

Blue Mountain: Stanfield, Grant Union

At-Large: Vernonia, Coquille, Lowell, Union

Bubble: Oakridge, Portland Christian, Weston-McEwen, Knappa

Class 1A

24 teams qualify for the playoffs, with each league getting three spots allocated based on regular season or tournament play. The #3 and #2 from each league play in the first round, with the winners advancing to play the #1 seeds in the Round of 16,

Valley 10: Damascus Christian, North Clackamas Christian, Open Door Christian

Casco: St. Paul, Perrydale, Willamette Valley Christian

Mountain West: Mohawk, Eddyville, Crow

Skyline: North Douglas, Days Creek, Umpqua Valley Christian

Mountain Valley League: Central Christian, North Lake, Rogue Valley Adventist

Big Sky: Echo, South Wasco County, Ione/Arlington

Old Oregon League: Joseph, Imbler, Cove

High Desert League: Crane, Jordan Valley, Adrian

Bubble: Jewell, Crosshill Christian, Powder Valley, Prairie City / Burnt River

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.